• Post author:
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Residents and stakeholders converged at the Council Chambers to witness the momentous moment that ushered in the installation of the eleven councilors of Victoria Falls following the July 2018 harmonized elections.
The election marshaled a reelection of 6 councilors and 5 new Councilors, with 3 females voted in.
The new councilors came at a crucial time to usher the completion of Victoria Falls developmental projects such as the WASH project, the State-of-Art Tourism Hospital project and the Golf course.
With councilors being an extension of the council to residents, they will work hand in hand with the municipality in its service delivery mandate ensuring that Victoria Falls maintains its position as a major tourist destination of choice.
The Mayor said the Council will work tirelessly towards the completion of many projects on its plate.
“We will remain committed to developing and strengthening the local economy by supporting the tourism industry and creating jobs,” said the Mayor
The Mayor also said “Plans to rehabilitate our Civic Centre are at an advanced stage; hence this is the time to finish off the work.”
Identifying problems faced by youths in Victoria Falls, Cllr Prince .T Moyo has dreams to empower the youth.
“Victoria Falls leaders need to come up with various self-help projects which will keep youths busy,” he said
Moving forward with development goals and quality service delivery, His Worship urged the council’s valuable stakeholders to settle their debts.
“Reneging on our mandate to pay for services rendered is detrimental to our community as a whole. Council is not going to give service for free,” said the Mayor.
The Mayor commended the Zimre properties for the progress made so far in the construction of the Sawanga Mall saying the facility is going to add value to the resort town. “The town would welcome similar developments,” he said.
His Worship was grateful to residents and fellow councilors for their confidence in him. Also, he thanked the outgoing Mayor, Mr. Sifiso Mpofu for his outstanding service during his reign, “he led this town well and left some big shoes to fill,” he said.
Councilors who swore an oath of allegiance to the state and to serve the Victoria Falls Municipality administered by town clerk Mr. Ronnie Dube are councilor M Varley for ward 1, N Shoko for ward 2, L Nyoni for ward 3, P Mwale for ward 4, R Mguni for ward 5, E Mambume, P T Moyo for ward 7, J Dzangai for ward 8, S Dhlamini for ward 9, N Sibindi for ward 10 and E Zhou.

Leave a Reply